April 3, 2005

  • THE CLOWN GOES NOSTALGIC



    Some guestbook comments I made about my life, edited for this blog, not through arrogence but through possible interest to the rest of you.





    When I was getting published all over the world, I was also an union convener (Trade union man who writes the speeches and types out the minutes and so on). We all went away for three weeks, leaving the wife’s sister in charge. The house was fine when we got back, but one of my kids counted my unopened mail, Two hundred and fifty (something) letters!





    When I was a child, I was a bit wild, no one understood me, and I didn’t understand the world. I got along with a speech defect and the total lack of empathy by humour. A Lot of comedians do this to stop them getting bullied. I was too tough to be bullied but didn’t want to bully. (Did once or twice, to my regret.)

    Anyway, my clowning was legend, and at a very early age I was called The Clown From Clowne. For example after seeing in a cowboy film a man throw his whiskey bottle into the fireplace. So I put my feet on my desk, got my milk bottle (we used to get free milk, one third of a pint) and chucked it into the school fire (lit!) and cried “Another one bar-tender!” I was seven years old.





    I could be inventively naughty. There was once a craze for “cow-counters” little discs with cows on with a dial from one to eight. It was how many pints of milk the house wanted that morning. Well, the houses all went straight onto the pavement with just a front step and the cow-counters. Every morning for ages I stopped to do up my shoe-lace and changed just one of the counters, ie from 1 pint to 4 pints, (nothing silly so the milkman will knock on the door.), sometimes I even went back to re-change the dials just to blame the milkman (who was a nasty bit of work).

    Just one house a day, so it was ages before I was caught! But caught I was. I was sent to a psychiatrist who said I had an iq above Mensa, and wrote to my school, who seemingly didn’t believe him as I was still treat as a fool. But of course I was a fool.

    I was about eight years old.





    I wrote my first poem (LINK) when I was twelve. I guess I had written poems before, but it is the first I remember (because it was published and my mother kept a copy of the magazine.) it was when I was living in Cyprus. It was about a weird cat my father was given by a policeman returning to England. the cat was even more psycho than I was!



    I wrote a comic poem (lost.) about a camel who I fed and who bit everyone who went into his field except the owner and I. Every now and then another boy thought he’ll copy me, he was then bit. I didn’t realise the owner knew what I was doing but as I was kind to his camel, feeding it, stroking it’s neck, he didn’t mind. Called me “St. Frances” especially when my psyco cat was following me everywhere.



    One boy got bit by the camel so he came back to hit me and he was attacked by my cat. I couldn’t stop laughing!





    One of my many cousins was three-years old when I was aged 13. Both our families was staying at my grandmother’s large house in Barry, South Wales, and Victoria hooked on me. I took her everywhere, or more likely she followed me everywhere. Never one for friends I didn’t mind.



    Ten years later Victoria still remembered some of what we did together, like finding a book of coupons someone had dropped, coupons that gave free rides to the fair. We spent most of them on the dodgems, we must have been in one together for hours smashing everything in sight. In those days you were ALLOWED to bump into other cars, try that today and a fair-ground yob jumps on your car and threatens you!



    I remember such incidents because most of my childhood was boring and I was living in a hell I did not understand.

     






    I collected train numbers for a while from the age of 13 when I returned from Cyprus to the age of 15. I was a fanatic for the numbers, I could remember every steam engine I had seen, their names and who built them. Something like “8P6F A4 4-6-2 1935 Sir Nigel Gresley’s streamlined. Seen 60002, Sir Murrough Wilson, 60004, William Whitelaw, 60005, Sir Charles Newton…”



    I suppose I was a bit insane, but I never hurt anyone, never stole amything, never hit anyone weaker than myself, never a female, and always carried out the old lady next door dustbins without being asked, something not easy for me.



    Never stole anything? well, one day to impress a girl I stole from a shop, after five days of torment I took it back and said sorry to everyone. No one sent me back, only my heart.



    I got the girl but didn’t want her.





    It might surprise the bullish Christian fundamentalists of America, but I was once highly religious, even after being buggered by a teacher-priest; some of you know the event that later turned me away, but the Church had it coming a long time before then. Quite apart from the abuser-priests, there were sadistic nuns and a church that just did not care for it’s poor. But there were exceptions. The Reverend Toby is a tribune to the parish priest in Matlock, who had a heart of gold, and who made me keep my faith long after it should have gone the way of the dodo.



    He was what arrogent people would call “a simple man”, his wife was killed in the war along with his child. Even 17-23 years later he still spoke about them to me as if it was only the day before.



    Never much of a talker, I became a great listener, which of course has now got it’s desserts in my poetry. The Reverend B. (never sure of his first name, but it wasn’t John as it said on the board). was a kind man, he never abused anyone, never laid his hands on anyone in anger. A cuddle from him was an innocent affair, children learn to know such things. And the old age pensioners loved him as a God.





    Time for one more.



    On-line friendships are like pen-pals of old. Or the people you meet on holiday who invite you round to their house. Happened to my former boss and his wife. A lovely couple, lived in the next county. My boss and his misses, prim strongly religious (Jewish) and formal went round there, things started off ok, but soon the other couple put on a filthy video, a real all-the-way one. My boss’s wife had never felt so ill!





    The Clowne From Clown.



    Comment Profile picture: Terry and Patrick.

    Three_Headed_Sarahs A poem by Sophie and news of the Sarahs’ farewell party.

    LordPineapple With Tiffy’s poems.



    Link to my NEW book http://www.cafepress.com/assortedfruits


    Profile pic on master page “Terry Scruffbert”

Comments (24)

  • {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{Terry}}}}}}}}}}}}}Definitely of interest

  • yes, it’s been a long time since milkmen delivered … we just left the paper order in the box …

  • I don’t get tired of your life stories.  Fascinating stuff, always interesting.  Really glad you write all of what you write about your life. 

    Becca

  • I love these little windows onto your life.  This is what shows what it might be like to have lived the life of another person. 

    My Dad was a milkman!

  • Obviously as a child you were too clever for them to realise ,that happens a lot now ,and they think people are a bit stupid, still you did well and i presume you would still if you hadn’t had that stroke ,i prefer you with hair ,I didn’t like that bald headed photo. Have you lost all your hair or did you shave it. i remember the milk at school only we had to pay one halfpenny, so some kids couldn’t afford that, as the West Hendon district I lived in was very working class in parts. I was born over a Chemist’s shop in the High street ,and we stayed there until i was 12. I loved it over looking a busy road, then we moved to a Lane ,yes the countryside was near then .My Dad bought a House and if i walked over the brige of the Welsh Harp Lake I was in the Countryside, do you know that area ,we were not far from the Aerodrome really which was at Colindale. Your life has been interesting savour it, it’s the only one you will get , well in this world ,about others ,I do not know .Cheers Marj

  • You were a train spotter, eh?  I woulda done that.  In fact, I wrote down the tail numbers of Britt aircraft for a while when I travelled a lot.  All kinds of F-27-s, they flew.

  • Tid bits from your life, quite wonderful. Hope you do more, too. You sound like a little hellion, or angel, I can’t decide which.

    Oh, I did respond to your comment on telepathy…have to hunt that article down now.

    xo

  • I love the milkman story. Well, all of this, but that especially.

  • Living with a genius who would rather be a hermit…other than all the creature comforts I give…I can tune into your life with much more reality.  I am smart but not genius by any means.  That is a lonely world as few think as you do and less understand.  My son is also in the same category but has a motorcycle dirt bike outlet where he scares the hell out of us by jumping over hills and such! Thank you for giving us more insite into Terry. I very much enjoy your writing and love the people you have created.  They are real…even in their fictional personas!  Thank you! 

  • This is such fun.  I feel like I get a chance to get to know the real Terry Cuthbert.  That is what this blog is, right?  I do so enjoy reading all your characters and the many ways your brain sees things.  But, this is quite intriguing.  I haven’t had much time to visit anyone on xanga lately.  Your xanga is one where I like to hang out for awhile and visit your other blogs through the many links.  I love the story of the cowboy milk.   I was that kind of kid, too. 

  • Thank you for your visit and for the link to this blog. It’s very interesting to read and I’m in awe over your writing style.

  • What a cute kid!

  • online friends are a bit of an lottery.. i mean you might think you’ve won one in a million only to find that its the dodgy ticket  lol.  I had one like that and have since then refused to meet most others.. i met Daffers tho at the last writing convention and she was really nice….. :)  

    ps… she never offered any video’s :) (

  • This was fun! Since I am a woman, and therefore as a child, a girl, I love stories about what it was like to be a boy as a child. My son is 6, and I wonder sometimes if he is doing the same things other boys do. My Husband unfortunatly has blocked most of his childhood due to abuse, so to read your stories of innocent pranks and clowning makes me giggle out loud. My son is just like every other boy. :)
    You don’t sound insane to me, you sound playful and very smart!
    I almost got hit by a train as a child, did you happen to get that number? lol

    I agree with your thoughts on Orangeranium, it’s tough to discuss anything with someone whose mind is closed and locked up tight against anything which might detract from what they consider “right”.
    What’s the title of your book? And is it going to be released here soon?

  • WOW im so humbled by your words
    I used to write poem until i discovered that
    Most don’t really like how i write in riddles
    now i jsut revert to drawing
    Thank you again for your words
    Makes me feel very humble

  • Hi Terry, I found I had kept a copy of the BBC article, here’s a quote:

    “Recently four people, two of them partly paralysed wheelchair users, were able to move a computer cursor while wearing a cap with 64 electrodes that pick up brain waves.

    Mr Nagle’s device, called BrainGate, consists of nearly 100 hair-thin electrodes implanted a millimetre deep into part of the motor cortex of his brain that controls movement.

    Wires feed the information from the electrodes into a computer which analyses the brain signals.

    The signals are interpreted and translated into cursor movements, offering the user an alternative way to control devices such as a computer with thought.”

    URL: Brain chips ‘read’ thoughts

    It may be a hoax; on the other hand, well who knows. Perhaps.

    xo

  • Why did the blonde snort Sweet-n-Low?

    She thought it was Diet Coke.

  • You really don’t look all that much different now from when you were two.

  • “I got the girl but didn’t want her” – Such great truth in so few words.  Isn’t that the way of life ?

  • I have printed this out to put in my “Keepers” book. Thank you!

    Tho not as brilliant as you, mentally or artistically, I was always “coloring outside the lines” as well. My dad , when he exhausted all other explanations, would say,
    “She means well.” That is my epitaph….SHE MEANT WELL.

  • “I got the girl but didn’t want her.”

    you notorious little thing!

    by the way, i think you were cute as a kid.

  • RYC:  Thanks for visiting.  Glad you liked what you found.  I’m gonna check out both your sites.

  • Wow, Terry, what a wonderful blog. I’m getting all misty and stuff reading it (and losing my ability to be articulate, too.)

    Quite a bit to share. Hugs and good stuff atcha.

  • I hope that St. Patrick was one of the animal rights activists that freed those snakes!  I like the way you think, Terry!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *