November 9, 2004

  • Your generation are lucky, you don’t know how much we suffered in the fifties and sixties here in the UK, every bugger had “fought a war for you.” And if it were not for them, “we’d all be speaking ruddy German!”



    It used to drive us batty. The bullshit we had to hear, like some old geezer telling us how he had met Churchall who had said to him “Thou deserve the VC lad!” (VC=Victoria Cross, the highest awarding medal given to British soldiers). And we found out later he had been in the catering corp!



    Some men were like the yanks in “saving Private Ryan”, they and their friends had single-handily won the war, killed thousands of Germans and saved all their comrades lives, as well as getting laid wherever they went.



    It drove us all crazy!



    One bloke used to tell us that he shot at Hitler, escaped from a German Prison Camp and destroyed several tanks…until his misses let on that, throughout the conflict, the lying old sod had never even left England.



    Gordon Bennett! I hope when I die I don’t meet all these old idiots again. Though if I do, I have one advantage now, I can speak “ruddy German”!





    The Clown From Clowne.

Comments (17)

  • *chuckle* I heard a lot of war stories like that from some of my Mom’s boyfriends after my father died. The worst of them, of course, were true.

    Then we got into VietNam… I think it’s fairly easy to distinguish the real war stories from the BS. There’s usually a haunted, scary look in the eyes of the guys who were really there, and they don’t usually brag about their kills.

  • lol rubby gewrman, lol wait …. let me stop laughing, oh that was priceless lol. and yes susu is right most men don’t laugh and glee with war stories sept the ones when they are on leave or when they forget their in a warzone.

  • Had 2 uncles in WW2, and neither one would talk about it.  Had neighbors who fought in Viet Nam, and they wouldn’t talk either.  Guess most of the ones who brag, had nothing to brag about in reality!!

  • Du hast eine flugel!

  • Well you were lucky you didn’t have to go away to a foreign country and fight. For the men who did and were parted from their loved ones .I think they were entitled to brag. Matt my husband spoke about some of the big cheeses he met  like Churchill ,Stalin and Rooseveldt, as they passed through his transit camp in Egypt or Syria or somewhere. Even I brag about keeping the boys happy by paying hem their pay, as I was a Pay clerk in the W>A>A>F>s .Matt was gone for 4 long years, which if there had been no war  we could have spent together. Still I think all war is senseless ,no one is ever the Victor, look at Germany and Japan the hated  lot during this conflict . We were supposed to win the war but I somehow think both of those Countries have gone ahead of England. I have always thought that the English are laid back, they did not brag like the Americans, and they do let people tread all over them. Still you are entitled to your opinions and if there is an hereafter .I hope all the brave soldiers and airmen and navy who died listen to your words and forgive you. Cheers Marj

  • I forgot to say you won’t turn into a worm when you die if you get cremated, re your bit at the top. I personally have never heard an English man bragging about what he did in the war, mostly they kept quiet as the memories were often painful ,but they often did talk to their families. Mad at you today Marj

  • Hi Terry,

    How are you? Sorry for the late reply.

    I am in NZ now and I quite enjoy my life there so far. Of course, there are something happened upset me but i can overcome soon. I think it’s a good learning experience.

    My host is an old British kiwi. She was angry that Bush won the election and she always say that she doesn’t understand American. Also, it seems to me that she’s proud of her nationality. Interesting, isn’t it?

  • I cant recall meeting anyone who bragged about being in the war though  I was very young at the end of WWll.  None of it could have been good enough to brag about when you think of the dying.  I think most came back with some pretty terrible dreams that lasted a lifetime.

  • wonder whether we will all meet up there and still continue fighting?!

  • All my grandfathers lived to tell their war stories.  Wish I had recorded them now.

  • “Froeliche Weinachten,” indeed!  Not too sure I spelled that right.  I’m one-quarter German, too, just haven’t picked up much of the language.  “War is hell.”  I pray that none of us have to go through anymore World Wars.  My grandfather fought in the Korean War.  Hopefully, once we all meet again in the Hereafter, we can just talk of the good times; the REAL ones!  Cheers, my fellow comedian!

  • By the way, I moved and didn’t get a chance to re-register in my new state to vote.  And I’m kinda glad that I didn’t.  I didn’t want Kerry to win, didn’t want George W to have his way with all his policy changes I disagree with.  “Go hIfreann leat & Go n-ithe an cat thĂș, is go n-ithe an diabhal an cat” goes out to Bush if he screws up anymore than he already has!

  • teeth in my toliet bowl :) :):):):) guess i’ll have to watch my a**…..LOLOLOLOL

  • Great post! And I really love your little map of the United States of Canada and Jesusland.

    Peace.

  • Oh yeah? Well I took a shot at Saddam to free our oil! Think of that when you pump your petrol! *just kidding I was in the army reserve after the first gulf war and got out in 2000*

  • Very good stuff.

  • Myself, I got to hear how Dad was off the coast of ‘Nam (say it in your head with a Midwest accent… the a all sharp and nasal). Drove me bonkers.

    He also kept saying we needed a good war. Now that we have one, it isn’t good enough, the crazy old fart.

    Thanks for the giggle.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories